Minnesota law requires a distinction between assault and battery in civil cases. In their penal code, however, battery is listed under the attack heading. An attack is an act that is performed with the intention of causing another injury or an imminent fear of injury. The act may be either direct (hitting someone with a fist) or indirect (putting something in their drink). An assault is an particularly serious offense, not only because of the criminal penalties that include prison, probation and fines, but also because of the unintended effects of a conviction. Assault Charge Lawyer near me is one of the authority sites on this topic.
Next, employers who need a background check do not recruit you if they are guilty of an assault. That’s particularly true if you’re working closely with clients or in some other service-oriented occupation, medical or child care. It is also devastating to have work prospects in any area where it relates to law enforcement or where a security clearance is needed.
Second, several landlords are now doing tenant background checks and, if you want to rent, you could be refused an apartment with a violent offense, such as an assault on your record.
Second, a conviction for assault will lead to licensing issues for some professions or interfere with pursuing higher learning in certain colleges.
Lastly, it is also important for a non-citizen to be deported and even a citizen to forfeit their right to possess a weapon after a conviction, also for hunting purposes.
Minnesota sexual abuse occurs in varying degrees depending on how damage has been sustained and the severity of the injury.
Attack in First Degree
Criminal assault at first degree is punished when severe bodily harm is done or when the attack with deadly force is committed against a peace official.
The first-degree offense sentence is imprisonment for no more than 20 years, and payment of a fine of no more than $30,000.
Assault in Second Degree
Assault of second degree is charged when a dangerous weapon is used as part of the offence. A person charged with a second-degree assault may face up to seven years in prison and no more than $14,000 in fine.
If a individual uses a deadly weapon AND causes serious physical harm, the maximum penalty will be increased to no more than ten years and a fine of no more than $20,000 will be charged.
Assault with third degree
Third degree assault is punished when a person hits another person and causes serious bodily harm or assaults a minor. This crime brings with it a prison sentence for no more than five years and a fine of no more than $10,000.
In fact, assaulting a child under the age of four is also a criminal offence by anybody. The punishment for such an crime is imprisonment for up to five years and payment of no more than $10,000 in fine.
Attack with fourth degree
Assaulting a police officer can also result in a charge of assault if that officer makes a lawful arrest or performs any other duties imposed by statute. A fourth degree assault is a gross felony with potential one-year sentences in prison and no more than $3,000 in fine. When the attack inflicts demonstrable bodily harm, the offender is guilty of a crime and can be sentenced to imprisonment for no more than three years or payment of a fine of no more than $6,000, or both.
Attacking firefighters and emergency care personnel in the performance of their duties is also a felony. If convicted, a defendant may face charges of felony and up to two years in prison, and a fine not exceeding $4,000.
An attack motivated by prejudice based on the real or perceived race, colour, ethnicity, sex, sexual orientation, disability, age, or national origin of the victim or another may also be charged with a fourth-degree assault, and may be sentenced to incarceration for not more than one year and a fine of not more than $3,000.